Migration of Rhinoceros
   
This project had multiple inspirations: the strangeness of the creature had fascinated me since I saw an exhibition of paintings by a certain Mr. Pitre, where the rhinoceros was presented as a train entering and leaving a tunnel. Subsequently, my partner gave me a toy rhino that I photographed for the ending of a film that I wanted to digitize.  My first experimentation with the rhinoceros was virtually placing it in my forest.

Model
   
In the spring of 1998 I was working with wire mesh caging for La Rivière du Temps (the River of Time). Following a call from an artists' centre, I got the idea of making rhinoceroses forms of wire mesh and filling them with organic material. They would be displayed in fields alongside cows. The project was refused but I decided to build a rhinoceros for an exhibition at the Grave Centre in Victoriaville. This first rhino was named Emma in honour of another Emma who was born the same week.
Emma, mesh and autumn leaves , 1998
Emma was filled with autumn leaves by the students at St-Georges de Shawinigan-Sud School and displayed at Victoriaville from November 20 to 18 December 1998. The second rhino, which I built in Quebec for a show at Action Art Actuel in St-Jean-sur-Richelieu was named Georges.  
Georges and Emma, 2002
 
A sort of chain reaction followed the birth of Emma. In January 1999 I was invited by Joan Crous to create another rhino in Bologna, Italy with the students of an educational-lab that helps with the social reintegration of ex-addicts. This work was done in June 1999. The Italian rhino, named Giacomo, was filled with a mixture of sweet grass.
.
 
Giacomo, mesh and sweet grass,
Tolè di Vergato, Italie, 1999
 
Giacomo was placed on the Piazza Santo Stefano in Bologna 29 June, 1999. In early 2000 it was part of a thematic exhibition on shapes and odours created by the student lab run by Joan Crous and Giovanna Bubbico. It is now part of the collection of Bologna's Health Department.

Giacomo, mesh and sweet grass, Piazza Santo Stefano, Bologne, Italie, 1999

   
In February 1999 I submitted a project to Le Vent des Forêts association to create a rhino from the Rhinoceros Migration series for their Meuse pathways. The project was selected from many submissions. The French rhino fed on small branches that it found in the forests of Meuse.

 

Lili, mesh and small branches,
Le Vent des Forêts, Lahaymeix, France, 1999

   
Lili was created in two weeks thanks to the collaboration of citizens of Dompcevrin who were volunteers with the association which had organized the symposium for three years. A special thanks to Pancher family.
My assistants :
Pierre Vilain, Gérard Pancher,
Jean-Pierre Gervasi, Lili et Gisèle Biron
Le Vent des Forêts, Lahaymeix,
France, 13th July 1999
 
The trip to Europe was made possible by travel grants from the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ) and the Canada Council of the Arts.
   
Gerhard, linden branches and mesh, 2001
As well as reinforcing the mesh, this technique gives a very interesting quality to the animal’s ‘hide’.
In spring 2001 I was invited by Jean-Marie Boivin and Nadia Schmidt to participate at the Garten der Sinne symposium in Gehren, Germany. They asked me to create a European cousin for Lili. I elected to install Gerhard in a field of linden trees and had the idea of intertwining linden branches with the structure's wire mesh.
Gerhard, linden branches and mesh, 2001
   
In 2002 I was invited by Pierre Martin of Blue Dragon Art to present my work at Taipei Artists Village in Taiwan. For that occasion I created two rhinoceroses.
Shu-Ling, mesh et bamboo, 2002
Shu-Ling was made of mesh with intertwined bamboo. He still stands in the inner courtyard of Taipei's Artists' Village.
Disappearing, bamboo circle, 2002
Disappearing is a bamboo circle that was suspended from the ceiling of the exhibition room. This dialogue between two creatures underlines the fact that the species is in danger of extinction, largely due to Asians who believe the horn is an aphrodisiac.
   
 
In 2003, when I was invited by Blue Dragon Art to participate at the international Jin-Shan symposium I created my first permanent rhino. A-Chung was made of welded stainless steel rods and filled with local round stones.
A-Chung, stainless steel rods and stones, 2003
 
   
 
The second permanent rhino was installed in the interior courtyard at the Quai des arts at Carleton in the Baie-des-Chaleurs. It was also made of stainless steel rods and filled with stones. We called her Guylaine.
 
Guylaine, stainless steel rods and stones, 2003
 
In winter 2007 I did Mavis during my residence at School of Performing and Visual Art, University of Tasmania. Launceston, Australia.
Mavis, stainless steel rods and stones, 2007
 
 
 
Leena was born during an artist residency at Kemijärvi in Finland in summer 2010. Residents have given me the stones which are inside and it is installed on the grounds of a government building which is located near the church. This is the most northerly of all rhinos in the series since it is north of the Arctic Circle.
This work has been performed with financial support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.
 
Leena, stainless steel rods and stones, 2010
 
Jui Yen, stainless steel rods and stones, 2012
Jui Yen was born during an artist residency at the Chung Hwa High School in Muar, Malaysia in summer 2012. The stones were put there by the students and they wrote messages on them. This is a Sumatran rhino, the smallest of all rhinos, but also one who is most at risk of disappearing due to loss of its natural habitat.
This work has been performed with financial support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.
 
To be continued in a temperate zone near you...

Migration du rhinocéros
   
Ce projet a des sources multiples; l'étrangeté de la bête me séduisait déjà, une exposition de peinture d'un certain monsieur Pitre où le rhinocéros était présenté comme un train qui sort ou qui entre d'un tunnel m'a fasciné. Suite à cela ma conjointe m'a donné un rhinocéros jouet que j'ai photographié pour terminer un film que je voulais faire numériser. Ma première intervention avec le rhinocéros fut de le placer virtuellement dans ma forêt.

Modèle
   
Au printemps 1998, parallèlement au travail de mise en gabions de La Rivière du Temps, et suite à un appel d'un centre d'artiste j'ai eu l'idée de construire des rhinocéros en grillage et de les remplir de matière organique. Ces derniers seraient présentés dans les champs parmi les vaches. Ce projet fut refusé mais je décidai dès ce moment de construire un rhinocéros pour une exposition au Grave à Victoriaville. Ce premier rhinocéros fut nommé "Emma" en l'honneur d'une autre Emma qui est née la même semaine.
Emma, grillage et feuilles mortes, 1998
Il fut rempli de feuilles mortes par les élèves de l'École St-Georges de Shawinigan-Sud et exposé à Victoriaville du 20 novembre au 18 décembre 1998. Le deuxième rhinocéros que j'ai construit au Québec pour une exposition chez Action Art Actuel à St-Jean-sur-Richelieu se nomme Georges.  
Georges et Emma, 2002
 
Je pourrais dire qu'il y eut une sorte de réaction en chaîne après la naissance d'Emma. En janvier 1999 j'ai reçu une invitation de Joan Crous pour aller faire un rhinocéros à Bologne en Italie avec les élèves d'une école-laboratoire qui favorise la réinsertion sociale d'ex-toxicomanes. Ce travail a été réalisé en juin 1999. Le rhino Italien se nomme "Giacomo" et il est rempli d'un mélange d'herbes odorantes
.
 
Giacomo, grillage et foin, Tolè di Vergato, Italie, 1999
 
Giacomo a été placé sur la Piazza Santo Stefano à Bologne le 29 juin 1999. Au début de l'année 2000, il a fait partie d'une exposition thématique sur les formes et les odeurs réalisée par les élèves de l'École-laboratoire dirigée par Joan Crous et Giovanna Bubbico. Il fait désormais partie de la collection du département de la Santé de Bologne.

Giacomo, grillage et foin, Piazza Santo Stefano, Bologne, Italie, 1999

   
En février 1999 je soumettais à l'association Le Vent des Forêts le projet de créer pour les sentiers de la Meuse un rhinocéros faisant partie de la série La Migration du Rhinocéros. Le projet a été retenu parmi les nombreuses propositions soumises. Le rhinocéros français se nourrit de petites branches qu'il trouve dans la forêt meusienne.

 

Lili, grillage et branches,Le Vent des Forêts
Lahaymeix, France, 1999
   
Lili a été construite en deux semaines grâce à la collaboration de quelques habitants de Dompcevrin qui sont aussi bénévoles pour l'association qui organise le Symposium depuis 3 ans. Un merci tout particulier aux Pancher.
Mes assistants :
Pierre Vilain, Gérard Pancher,
Jean-Pierre Gervasi, Lili et Gisèle Biron
Le Vent des Forêts, Lahaymeix,
France, 13 Juillet 1999
 
Le voyage en Europe a été rendu possible grâce aux bourses de voyage du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec et du Conseil des Arts du Canada.
   
Gerhard, branches de tilleul et grillage, 2001
Cette technique, en plus de renforcir le grillage, donne un aspect très particulier à la “ peau ” de l’animal.
Au printemps 2001, j’ai été invité par Jean-Marie Boivin et Nadia Schmidt à participer au symposium Garten der Sinne, à Gehren en Allemagne. Ils m’avaient demandé de réaliser un cousin européen à Lili. J’ai choisi d’installer Gerhard dans une plantation de tilleul et j’ai eu l’idée d’enrouler des branches de tilleul à l’intérieur de la structure de grillage métallique.
Gerhard, branches de tilleul et grillage, 2001
   
 En 2002, je fus invité par Pierre Martin de Blue Dragon Art à exposer au Taipei Artists Village à Taiwan. Pour l’occasion je réalisai deux rhinocéros.
Shu-Ling, grillage et bambou, 2002
Shu-Ling est construit en grillage et il y a du bambou enroulé à l’intérieur. Il est toujours dans la cour intérieure du Taipei Artists Village.
Disappearing, cercle de bambou, 2002
Disappearing est en cercles de bambou qui étaient suspendus à partir de plafond de la salle d’exposition. Ce dialogue entre les deux bêtes soulignait le fait que si l’espèce est en voie de disparition, c’est beaucoup à cause des asiatiques qui croient que la corne de rhinocéros est aphrodisiaque.
   
 
En 2003, réinvité par Blue Dragon Art à participer au symposium International de Jin-Shan, je réalisai mon premier rhinocéros permanent. A-Chung est construit en tiges d’acier inoxydable soudées et est rempli avec des pierres rondes locales.
A-Chung, tiges d'acier inoxydable et pierres, 2003
 
 
 
Le deuxième rhinocéros permanent est installé dans la cour intérieure du Quai des arts à Carleton dans la Baie-des-Chaleurs. Lui aussi est construit en tiges d'acier inoxydable et il est rempli avec des pierres. Il s’appelle Guylaine.
 
Guylaine, tiges d'acier inoxydable et pierres, 2003
 
À l'hiver 2007 j'ai fabriqué Mavis lors d'une résidence d'artiste à la School of Performing and Visual Art, University of Tasmania. Launceston, Australia.
Mavis, tiges d'acier inoxydable et pierres, 2007
 
 
 
Leena est née lors d’une résidence d’artiste à Kemijärvi en Finlande à l’été 2010. Les résidents m’ont apporté les pierres qui sont à l’intérieur et elle est installée sur le terrain d’un édifice gouvernemental qui se trouve tout près de l’église. C’est le plus nordique de tous les rhinocéros de la série puisqu’il se trouve au nord du cercle polaire arctique.
Cette oeuvre à été réalisée grâce au soutien financier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.
 
Leena, tiges d'acier inoxydable et pierres, 2010
 
Jui Yen, tiges d'acier inoxydable et pierres, 2012
Jui Yen est né lors d’une résidence d’artiste à la Chung Hwa High School de Muar en Malaisie à l’été 2012. Les pierres y ont été placées par les étudiants et ils ont écrit des messages sur ces dernières. Il s’agit d’un rhinocéros de Sumatra, le plus petit de tous les rhinocéros, mais aussi celui qui est le plus menacé de disparition à cause de la perte de son habitat naturel.
Cette oeuvre à été réalisée grâce au soutien financier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.
 
À suivre dans une zone tempérée près de chez vous...