The River of Time
   
During my Master's studies. I concentrated on the idea of creating a sculpture garden on my property at St-Jean-des-Piles in the Mauricie region. I saw this as a life-long project. Because the central element of this work is time, I decided in May 1994 to represent time with a shape and material. I got the idea of cutting a small round stone in half every day. It was a simple gesture whose repetition ended up creating a work that gives substance to time. This was the genesis of The River of Time.

The River of Time , first version with stones cut in two every day since May 1994.

   
Initially these stones were presented en mass in the form of a straight line. They were exhibited three times in this way. The first time was at Shawinigan's Centre des Arts in the summer of 1995, then at Jonquière's Centre National d'Exposition in January 1996 for my Master's exhibition and finally at the Paul-Émile Borduas Atrium at the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières in December 1996..
The River of Time , third version,
Atrium Paul-Émile Borduas, UQTR, 1996
 
   
In early 1997, after noticing the disappearance of some stones (that had been polished) as well as dealing with the growing difficulty of moving and storing this work, I decided to place the stones in containers. The memory of wire mesh that I had seen during my first trip to Italy led me to choose wire mesh boxes. Each box contains a month of materialized time and the month/year are identified. I started to build wire mesh boxes and place the cut stones inside.
The River of Time , three months.
These mesh cages for The River of Time became modules, permitting me to create geometric shapes for the following exhibitions. For the show at the 15th anniversary of Silex and the next show at the Grave Centre in Victoriaville in fall 1998, this work was presented in a spiral of mesh boxes, containing all the stones cut since May 1994.
The River of Time , 52 months
Atelier Silex, September 1998
 
 
The River of Time , identification.
 
In the fall of 1999 I began to permanently install this work in my forest. I decided to make a circle for every two years of stones: 24 interlinked mesh crates which comprise my biennale of contemporary art. Every two years the work will grow four inches taller.
   
The River of Time , St-Jean-des-Piles,
autumn 1999
The River of Time, St-Jean-des-Piles,
winter 1999
The River of Time, St-Jean-des-Piles,
spring 2001
The River of Time, St-Jean-des-Piles,
spring 2010

La rivière du temps
   
Pendant ma scolarité de maîtrise je me suis concentré sur l'idée de créer un jardin de sculpture sur la terre que je possède à St-Jean-des-Piles en Mauricie. Je voyais dans ce projet, un projet de vie, une oeuvre sur laquelle je travaillerais le reste de ma vie. Comme l'élément central de ce travail était le temps, je décidai dès le mois de mai 1994 de donner au temps une forme, une matière. L'idée m'est venue de couper en deux une petite pierre ronde à chaque jour. Il me fallait poser un geste simple qui par sa répétition finirait par créer une oeuvre qui matérialiserait le temps. C'est ainsi qu'est née La rivière du temps.

La rivière du temps, première version, pierres coupées en deux, une par jour depuis mai 1994.

   
Au début, ces pierres furent présentées en vrac sous la forme d'une ligne droite. Elles furent exposées à trois reprises de cette manière. La première fois au Centre des Arts de Shawinigan à l'été 1995, puis au Centre National d'Exposition de Jonquière en janvier 1996 pour mon exposition de maîtrise et enfin à l'Atrium Paul-Émile Borduas de l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières en décembre 1996.
La rivière du temps, troisième version,
Atrium Paul-Émile Borduas, UQTR, 1996
 
   
Au début de l'année 1997, après avoir constaté la disparition de certaines pierres (qui étaient polies) en plus de la difficulté croissante que j'éprouvais à déplacer et entreposer cette oeuvre, je décidai de mettre les pierres dans des contenants. Le souvenir de gabions que j'avais vu lors de mon premier voyage en Italie me guida vers le choix de boites en grillage métallique. Chaque boite devrait contenir un mois de temps matérialisé et elle serait identifiée. Je commençai donc à construire des boites de grillage et à mettre les pierres déjà coupées à l'intérieur.
La rivière du temps, trois mois.
Cette mise en gabions de La rivière du temps m'a permis d'utiliser ces modules pour créer des formes lors des expositions qui suivirent. Ainsi, pour l'exposition que j'ai tenue à Silex lors du 15ème anniversaire et celle qui eut lieu au Grave de Victoriaville à l'automne 1998, cette oeuvre fut présentée en spirale avec toutes les boites qui contenaient les pierres coupées depuis mai 1994.
La rivière du temps, 52 mois
Atelier Silex, septembre 1998
 
 
La rivière du temps, identification.
   
À l'automne 1999, j'ai commencé à installer l'oeuvre dans ma forêt de façon définitive. J'ai décidé de faire un cercle de deux ans, 24 gabions, qui sont liés les uns aux autres, il s'agit de ma biennale d'art contemporain. À tous les deux ans l'oeuvre grandira de 4 pouces.
 
La rivière du temps, St-Jean-des-Piles,
automne 1999.
La rivière du temps, St-Jean-des-Piles,
hiver 1999.
La rivière du temps, St-Jean-des-Piles,
printemps 2001.
La rivière du temps, St-Jean-des-Piles,
printemps 2010.