Trunks and Mesh
   
In autumn 2001, I was alone in my home after a painful break-up. At the time I was engaged in doctoral research workshop. Within this workshop I decided to create Salvation.
 
Salvation, detail, 2001
Based on a drawing made several years earlier, the wood looks like a common interwoven garden trellis but was actually sculpted from a single piece of white pine. I set up in my basement and spent hundreds of hours, with gouge in hand, seeking salvation in my work. This first piece from the series entitled '"Troncs et grillages" (trunks and mesh) was presented at the maison de la culture in Trois-Rivières before being hung in a forest to weather unprotected.
Salvation, 2001
 
   
Invited to participate at a group exhibition on art and nature in Trois-Rivières I imagined a trunk divided into three sections of which the central section would be a mesh. I hunted down a crooked white pine trunk to make this sculpture. Once again, all the work was done by hand, with traditional wood sculpture tools.
 
The Trunk , 2002
In the fall of 2002, after being selected to create a maquette for the gardens of the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec I had the idea of making casts of tree bark using flexible moulds. By using flexible moulds I could flatten the tree bark textures to create cubes, posts or rectangular columns. "Le tronc civilisé" (civilized trunk) came out of my experiments at that time.
Civilized Trunk , 2002
 
 
 
The sculptures "Pine 2", "Banksia 1" and "Banksia 2" were created during the Floating Land symposium which took place from June 6 to 16, 2005 at Noosa in Australia. The largest piece was 1.6 metres long.
 
Pine 2 , 2005
   
Banksia 1 , 2005
Banksia 2, 2005
 

The sculpture "Bush Cathedral" was created during the 'Farming with Mary' symposium. Using a standing dead eucalyptus with a hollow trunk, I pierced square and round holes up to a height of 6 m.
 
Bush Cathedral, 2005
 
The 5 m white pine sculpture, "Tronc 2" (Trunk 2), was created for Biennale de sculpture contemporaine at Trois-Rivières in 2006.
Trunk 2, 2006
 
   
Tipi, 2011
240 cm high by 36 cm wide.
"Tipi" made during the International Symposium of woodcarving Kemijärvi, with the participation of France Joyal, Finland, 2011.


The trip to Finland was made possible by a travel grant from the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ).
 
 
"Deltoid of the St.Maurice" was commis- sioned by the Museum Borealis in Trois-Rivières. During the work of developing the site, two huge cottonwood trees had to be cut. The center's director wanted these trees do not disappear completely and I was given the mission to make a sculpture. The trunk used measure 114 cm in diameter at the base and 365 cm long.
 
Deltoid of the St. Maurice, 2011

Troncs et grillages
   
À l'automne 2001, je me retrouvais seul dans la maison après une séparation douloureuse. Au même moment j'étais inscrit à un atelier de recherche au doctorat. C'est dans le cadre de cet atelier que je décidai de réaliser "La planche de salut".
 
La planche de salut, détail, 2001
   
Issu d'un dessin réalisé il y a plusieurs années, ce grillage qui ressemble beaucoup à ceux que l'on peut acheter est cependant sculpté dans un seul morceau de pin blanc. Je me suis installé dans le sous-sol et j'ai passé des centaines d'heures, gouge à la main, à chercher le salut dans le travail. Cette première œuvre de la série "Troncs et grillages" fut exposée à la Maison de la culture de Trois-Rivières avant d'être suspendue dans la forêt pour y vieillir sans aucune protection.
La planche de salut, 2001
 
   
Invité à participer à une exposition de groupe portant sur l'art et la nature, toujours à Trois-Rivières, j'ai pensé au tronc divisé en trois parties dont la partie centrale serait un grillage. J'ai cherché un tronc de pin blanc crochu pour réaliser cette sculpture. Encore une fois, tout le travail fut fait à la main, avec les outils traditionnels du sculpteur sur bois.
 
Le tronc, 2002
   
À l'automne 2002, étant sélectionné pour réaliser une maquette pour les jardins de la Bibliothèque nationale du Québec, j'ai eu l'idée de faire des moulages d'écorce d'arbres à l'aide de moules flexibles. En utilisant ces moules flexibles je peux ainsi remettre à plat les textures de l'écorce et, ainsi créer des cubes, des poutres ou des colonnes rectangulaires. "Le tronc civilisé" est issu des expérimentations que j'ai faites à ce moment.
Le tronc civilisé, 2002
 
 
 
Les sculptures "Pine 2", "Banksia 1" et "Banksia 2" furent réalisées pendant le symposium Floating Land qui a eu lieu du 6 au 16 juin 2005 à Noosa en Australie. La plus longue des pièces fait environ 160 cm de long.
 
Pine 2 , 2005
 
   
Banksia 1 , 2005
Banksia 2, 2005
   

La sculpture "Bush Cathedral" fut réalisée pendant le symposium Farming with Mary. Il s’agit d’un eucalyptus mort, dont le tronc est creux. J’ai percé des trous carrés et des trous ronds jusqu'à environ 6 mètres de hauteur.
 
Bush Cathedral, 2005
 
La scupture "Tronc 2", en pin blanc, d'une longueur de près de 5 mètres a été réalisée pour la Biennale de sculpture contemporaine de Trois-Rivières en 2006.
Tronc 2, 2006
 
 
Tipi, 2011
240 cm de hauteur par 36 cm de largeur.
Sculpture réalisée pendant le Symposium international de sculpture sur bois de Kemijärvi, avec la participation de France Joyal, Finlande, 2011.


Le voyage en Finlande a été rendu possible grâce à une bourse de voyage du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ).
 
 
"Deltoïde du Saint-Maurice" était une commande du Musée Boréalis de Trois-Rivières. Lors des travaux d’aménagement du site, deux immenses peupliers deltoïdes ont dû être coupés. La directrice du centre a voulu que ces arbres ne disparaissent pas complètement et m’a confié la mission d’en faire une sculpture. Le tronc utilisé mesure 114 cm de diamètre à la base et 365 cm de longueur.
 
Deltoïde du Saint-Maurice, 2011